• GA4 Hub
  • Posts
  • Why Don’t I see Event Parameter Values in GA4

Why Don’t I see Event Parameter Values in GA4

GA4 Questions and Answers

“Why don’t I see event parameter values in GA4?” is a question that I get quite often.

Note: If you already know the answer then you can skip this and go to the GA4 For Beginners Course Winners section to see if you won a free course.

When you add an event paramater then you have two options to name them

  1. Use the same name as an existing GA4 paramater to send the value.

  2. Use a custom name for the paramater.

Let’s take an example.

Say I want to send the text of the link the users clicked on a particular page/section. In that case, I have two options

  1. I can use link_text as the paramater. This parameter already exists in GA4 and is used for “Outbound” clicks or “External Link” tracking.

  2. I can create a new paramater and call it internal_link_text.

Either solution will work.

If I use an existing event_paramater then GA4 will store all the values in a predefined dimension that GA4 has created for that parameter. In our example below the values of the “link_text” event paramater can be found in the “Link Text” dimension.

However, if I use a custom event paramater then those won’t values won’t automatically be stored in a dimension in GA4 and hence won’t be available in the GA4 interface. To see those values in GA4, I will have to create a Custom Dimension that will store the values passed via the custom event paramater. To create a custom dimension follow the steps below:

How to Create Custom Dimension

  1. Sign in to Google Analytics and click Admin.

  2. Click Custom Definitions> Custom dimensions.

  3. Click the Create Custom Dimension button.

  4. Enter a Name and Scope for the dimension.

  5. Click Create.

That’s all.

If you have any questions, please send them to me, and I will answer them in this newsletter.

GA4 For Beginners Course Winners

Every week I am giving away access to my GA4 for Beginners course. This week’s winners are listed below. If your emails start with the following letters then email to [email protected] from that email address to get your code to register.
The last day to claim your course is April 30th.
Did not win? Don’t worry next set of winners will be announced next week. Make sure to subscribe to this newsletter.

Free Course Winners

  • jonathandwss

  • raselday20

  • twinklegupta797

  • annicajnsson

  • abedin.chisty

  • manojcmanoj647

  • wang.pohsiang1115

95% Off Course Winners

  • fniculae

  • vanormelingencarl

  • mimmli

  • vojkovicilija

  • hoducninh

  • projects.serena

  • bipin.patel

  • kumarravi2104

  • marcioipro

  • sasa.cordas

75% Off Course Winners

  • zaga.anna80

  • boya.venu

  • rkaur@bank

  • uarif786786

  • georgef1600

  • zuzana.lachnitova

  • hadi112233

  • nicoschumann

  • kostas@ves

  • cconley.4875

New winners will be announced in the next newsletter.

Thank you,
Anil Batra
Optizent.com